(Photo Credits: Bob DeChiara-USA Today Sports)

By: Liz Rizzo| Follow me on Twitter @pastagrl88

A historical win tonight at the TD Garden as the Boston Bruins hit a new franchise record with their 58th win in a single season. With a 2-1 overtime win over the Columbus Blue Jackets, Boston clinched their 4th President’s Trophy in franchise history, securing home ice for the upcoming Stanley Cup Playoffs.

David Pastrnak scored a career-high 53rd goal of the season while netminder Linus Ullmark notched his third consecutive game with 20-plus saves. Prior to tonight’s match-up, the team announced their 2022-2023 award winners:

Eddie Shore Award-awarded to the Bruin who demonstrates exceptional hustle and determination throughout the season.

Winner: Charlie Coyle

Elizabeth Dufresne Trophy-given to the Bruin with the most outstanding performance during home games.

Winner: Linus Ullmark

Bruins Three Stars-presented by 98.5 The Sports Hub to the team’s top performers in home games.

Winners: David Pastrnak, Linus Ullmark and Brad Marchand

John P. Bucyk Award-presented to the Bruin with the greatest off-ice charitable contributions.

Winner: Patrice Bergeron

Game Recap

Special teams were tested early (and often) during the game’s first eight minutes. Both teams were engaged in back-to-back penalties with the Bruins on the powerplay in the first opening minute with Boone Jenner sitting out on a slashing call against Charlie Coyle.

Shortly after the end of the Bruins’ man advantage, the Blue Jackets would get on the powerplay as Trent Frederic sat out on a hooking penalty against former Bruin Sean Kuraly. Boston would then get back on the power play with Lane Pederson sitting out on a hi-sticking call against Charlie McAvoy.

The man advantage did not produce a goal for Boston however Columbus would score the first goal of the game seconds after the penalty ended. Jack Roslovic would backhand his 10th goal of the season, sending the puck past Linus Ullmark.

Boston outshot the Blue Jackets eight to six and were down a player after being called for too many men on the ice at 18:41 to close out the first. The penalty would carry over into the second period with Columbus on the man advantage.

A spirited second period saw both teams once again on the receiving end of penalties and fights. Massachusetts-native and current Columbus player Bill Sweezey dropped gloves against Jakub Lauko – a first for both players.

What looked to be a five-minute penalty ( a high cross-check by Lane Pederson against Patrice Bergeron) was reviewed by officials and downplayed to a two-minute penalty. Tyler Bertuzzi would score on the powerplay after tipping in Pavel Zacha’s shot past Columbus’s netminder Michael Hutchinson.

In retaliation against the hit on Bergeron, Trent Frederic had no trouble knocking down Pederson with one swift punch. Both players were awarded a fighting penalty. Boston was back on the powerplay when Kirill Marchenko was given a double minor for hi-sticking Brad Marchand.

Gameplay came to a halt while on-ice officials reviewed a goal that was scored by Tyler Bertuzzi. The goal was ultimately disallowed after it was ruled that the puck was frozen prior to it becoming loose. The period would end with the B’s outshooting the Blue Jackets 13-10 in a 1-1 tie.

Both teams had golden scoring opportunities with potential breakaway goals during the third period however both goaltenders made crucial saves. Fewer penalties this period with Bruins’ defenseman Brandon Carlo tussling with Boone Jenner. Tomas Nosek would have the only other infraction in the period.

With time ticking away, the Bruins simply could not get the puck past Hutchinson. The game ended with a 1-1 tie in regulation leading to overtime. Forty-one seconds in David Pastrnak would notch his 53rd goal of the season as the Bruins win their 58th game of the season.


Boston outshot Columbus 31 to 26 as they sweep the season series 3-0. The team is now 58-12-5 so far as they continue their historical season. Ullmark made 25 saves in net.

NEXT GAME: Boston Bruins versus Pittsburgh Penguins, Saturday, April 1st with puck drop after 3:00 PM